Ryan McCreery. Ph.D

Ryan McCreery  

Vice President of Research

Ryan McCreery, Ph.D., began his career at Boys Town National Research Hospital in 2004 as an audiologist. While working in Boys Town Audiology, he completed his Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, an achievement that earned him a promotion to a scientist on the research side of the organization in 2011. By 2012, he was named Director of the Center for Audiology, and in 2017, Dr. McCreery was appointed Vice President of Research at Boys Town.

In this current role, Dr. McCreery is responsible for strategic direction and operations of the Boys Town Hospital research centers and the laboratories that comprise them. The achievements of the labs under his purview and their culture of translational research contribute directly to the Boys Town Hospital mission of changing the way America cares for children and families. Dr. McCreery has overseen a substantial increase in the number of scientists and external research funding during his tenure as Vice President of Research, including supporting the establishment of the Institute for Human Neuroscience in 2021. In addition to his duties as Vice President of Research, Dr. McCreery leads an NIH-funded research lab that studies way to improve how hearing aids are fitted for children and adults with hearing loss.

Dr. McCreery’s involvement in life-changing care extends beyond his work at Boys Town Hospital. He is a volunteer at St. Cecilia Cathedral School where he coaches basketball and supports health screening events. He is the current chair of the Scientific Advisory and External Relations Committee for the American Academy of Audiology and a member of the American Auditory Society. Dr. McCreery has been recognized for his commitment to serving the audiology industry (and those who benefit from it) with the Early Career Contributions Research Award from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association in 2013 and with the prestigious appointment as a fellow of the American Speech-Language Hearing Association in 2020.