Core Center for Communication Disorders

 

A grant from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD provides core support for researchers funded by NIDCD or related divisions of the National Institutes of Health. The Core Center for Communication Disorders is based at BTNRH, but includes faculty members at Creighton University, the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (UNL), the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) and the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO). Walt Jesteadt serves as Program Director. The Core Center provides support in three areas.

Laboratory Computing and Biostatistics

This core, directed by Dr. Stephen Neely, provides support for real-time data collection, development of software for data analyses, and acoustic calibrations for research laboratories. Support for experimental design and statistical analyses is provided through a subcontract with the Department of Biostatistics in the College of Public Health at UNMC. Software developed by members of the core staff and others at BTNRH is available at http://audres.org.

Research Synergy

This core, directed by Drs. Barbara Morley and Mary Pat Moeller, will organize workshops, colloquia and other activities to facilitate interactions among interested individuals from the more than 30 potential collaborators at BTNRH, Creighton, UNMC and UNL.

Human Research Subjects

This core, directed by Dr. Michael Gorga, provides support for subject recruitment and compliance with best practices regarding research involving human subjects. The core maintains a database of individuals in the greater Omaha area who have expressed an interest in participating in research studies related to hearing and communication disorders. It also provides other support services related to IRB and NIH applications and progress reports, along with quality-assurance measures related to consent and assent processes. If you would like more information, please contact the Research Subjects Core Coordinator at 402 498-6705.

Participating Faculty

The Core Center for Communication Disorders provides support for NIDCD grants held by Drs. Dominic Cosgrove, Michael Gorga, Michelle Hughes, Douglas Keefe, Yesha Lundberg, Mary Pat Moeller, Stephen Neely, and Patricia Stelmachowicz at BTNRH, David He at Creighton, and Jordan Green and Tiffany Hogan at UNL/UNMC. We have a much larger group of faculty members who have the potential to receive NIDCD support. Contact information and a summary of current or recent funding for the current and potential research base are given in the following table.

Name

Institution

Email/Phone

Web site

Current/Recent Funding

Monita Chatterjee, PhD

BTNRH

Monita.Chatterjee@boystown.org

402-452-5069

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC004786;
Complex Auditory Processing with Cochlear Implants

NIH-NIDCD/7R21DC011905;
Voice Pitch Processing by Normally-Hearing and Cochlear-Implanted Children

Dominic Cosgrove, PhD

BTNRH

Dominic.Cosgrove@boystown.org

402-498-6334

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC004844; Usherin: Structural and Functional Analysis

NIH-NIDDK/ 2R01DK055000; Molecular Aspects of Alport Renal Disease Progression

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC006442 (Subaward); Matrix Otopathology

FFB/NNRI; NNPC-GT-0710-0054-BTNRH-FR; Efficacy of UshStat Vectors in Shaker1 Mice

Anna Dunaevsky, PhD

UNMC

adunaevsky@unmc.edu

402-559-1071

Web site

NIH-/5R01NS057667; Dynamics of Cerebellar Purkinje Cell Dendrites

Michael Gorga, PhD

BTNRH

Michael.Gorga@boystown.org

402-498-6604

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC002251; Cochlear Nonlinearity and Auditory Function in Humans

NIH-NIDCD/3R01DC002251; Cochlear Nonlinearity and Auditory Function in Humans (Diversity Supplement)

NIH-NIDCD/5P30DC004662; Human Research Subject Core

Jordan Green, PhD

UNL

jgreen4@unl.edu

402-617-7064

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC009890; Bulbar Motor Deterioration in ALS

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC006463; Early Speech Motor Development

Richard Hallworth, PhD

CUMC

richardhallworth@creighton.edu

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R21DC008995; Determination of Metabolic State of Hair Cell Mitochondria by FLIM

David He, MD, PhD

CUMC

davidhe@creighton.edu

402-280-1409

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC004696; Biophysics and Development of Cochlear Hair Cells

NIH-NIDCD/5R21DC009908; Regeneration of Stereocilia of Cochlear Hair Cells

Tiffany Hogan, PhD

UNL

thogan2@unl.edu

402-472-3911

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R03DC009667; The Lexicon and Phoneme Awareness

Michelle Hughes, PhD

BTNRH

Michelle.Hughes@boystown.org

402-452-5038

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC009595; Physiology as a Potential Predictor of Perception in Cochlear Implants

Kristen Janky, PhD

BTNRH

Kristen.Janky@boystown.org

402-498-6535

Web site

 

Walt Jesteadt, PhD

BTNRH

Walt.Jesteadt@boystown.org

402-498-6704

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5P30DC004662; Core Center: Administration Core

NIH-NIDCD/5T32DC000013; Research in Human Communication and Its Disorders

NIH-NIDCD/5T35DC008757; Short-Term Research Training for AUD Students

Sherri Jones, PhD

UNL

Sherri.Jones@unl.edu

402-472-5496

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/R01DC006443;
Genetic Basis of Gravity Receptor Dysfunction in Mice; ECU-DoD Partnership: Operation Re-entry North Carolina; Sensory Reweighting in Trauma or Blast Induced Dizziness

Timothy Jones, PhD

UNL

Tjones13@unl.edu

402-472-5100

Web site

 

Douglas Keefe, PhD

BTNRH

Douglas.Keefe@boystown.org

402-498-6733

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC010202; Wideband Clinical Diagnosis and Monitoring of Middle-Ear and Cochlear Function

William Kimberling, PhD

BTNRH

William.Kimberling@boystown.org

402-498-6713

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC003544; Autosomal Dominant Non-Syndromic Hearing Loss

Siu-Kit (Eddie) Lau, PhD

UNL

slau3@unl.edu

402-554-3861

Web site

 

Ken L. Kramer, PhD

CUMC

KenKramer@creighton.edu

402.280.2763

Web site

 

Christopher Kratochvil, MD

UNMC

ckratoch@unmc.edu

402-552-6006

NIH-NIMH/5K23MH066127; Pharmacological Treatment of ADHD in Young Children

Dawna Lewis, PhD

BTNRH

Dawna.Lewis@boystown.org

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R03DC009675; The Impact of Minimal Hearing Loss on Functional Auditory Skills in Children

Yesha Lundberg, PhD

BTNRH

Yesha.Lundberg@boystown.org

402-498-6607

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC008603; Otoconia Development and Maintenance

Ryan McCreery, PhD

BTNRH

Ryan.McCreery@boystown.org

402-498-6668

Web site

 

Mary Pat Moeller, PhD

BTNRH

MaryPat.Moeller@boystown.org

402-452-5068

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC006681; Word Learning in Infants with Hearing Loss

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC009560; Moderators and Outcomes in Children With Mild to Severe Hearing Impairment

Dennis Molfese, PhD

UNL

dmolfese2@unl.edu

402-472-7976

Web site

NIH-NICHD 1R43 HD062072: Integration of High-Density EEG and Hemodynamic Measures to Investigate Neural Functioning.

NIH-NIBIB 1R01EB007684: NEMO: Robust Methods For Knowledge Representation, Data Mining And Integration

Barbara Morley, PhD

BTNRH

Barbara.Morley@boystown.org

402-498-6584

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC006907; Transient Expression of Cholinergic Markers in the PVCN

Stephen Neely, DSc

BTNRH

Stephen.Neely@boystown.org

402-498-6751

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC008318-05; Cochlear Mechanics, Wave Propagation, and Compression

NIH-NIDCD/5P30DC004662; Core Center: Lab Computing Core

Kanae Nishi, PhD

BTNRH

Kanae.Nishi@boystown.org

402-498-6354

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R03DC009334; Auditory Training for Persons with Difficulty Understanding Speech in Noise

You-Wei Peng, PhD

BTNRH

You-Wei.Peng@boystown.org

402-498-6523

Web site

NIH-NCRR/5P20RR018788; The Molecular Biology of Neurosurgery Systems: COBRE Proj

Kayla Pope, JD, MD

BTNRH

Kayla.Pope@boystown.org

402-498-6762

Web site

 

Sonia Rocha-Sanchez, PhD

CUMC

ssanchez@creighton.edu

402-280-5098

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R03DC009989; Role of Supporting Cells in Cochlear Hair Cell Regeneration

Nicholas Smith, PhD

BTNRH

Nicholas.Smith@boystown.org

402-452-5070

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R03DC009884; Hearing Status and Prosody in Mother-Child Speech

Shelley Smith, PhD

UNMC

ssmith@unmc.edu

402-559-5314

Web site

NIH-NCRR/5P20RR018788; The Molecular Biology of Neurosurgery Systems

Garrett Soukup, PhD

CUMC

garrettsoukup@creighton.edu

402-280-5754

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC009025; Role of Micrornas in Mammalian Ear Development and Neurosensory Specification

Patricia Stelmachowicz, PhD

BTNRH

Pat.Stelmachowicz@boystown.org

402-498-6522

Web site

NIH-NIDCD/5R01DC004300; Optimizing Amplification for Infants and Young Children

Nick Stergiou, PhD

UNO

nstergiou@unomaha.edu

402-554-3247

Web site

NIH-NICHHD/5K25HD047194; Nonlinear Analysis of Postural Function in Infants

Ronald Thompson, PhD

BTNRH

Ronald.Thompson@boystown.org

402-498-1254

Web site

 

Wallace Thoreson, PhD

UNMC

wbthores@unmc.edu

402-559-2019

Web site

NIH-NEI/5R01EY010542; Regulation of Photoreceptor Neurotransmission

Edward Walsh, PhD

BTNRH

Edward.Walsh@boystown.org

402-498-6701

Web site

NIH-NCRR/5P20RR018788; The Molecular Biology of Neurosurgery Systems

NSF/IOS-0823417; Auditory Performance in Tigers

Lily Wang, PhD

UNL

LwWang4@UNL.edu

402-554-2065/a<>

Web site

 

Michael Weston, PhD

CUMC

michaelweston@creighton.edu

402-280-5030

Web site

NIH-NCRR/5P20RR018788; The Molecular Biology of Neurosurgery Systems: Project 6

Tony Wilson, PhD

UNMC

tony.w.wilson@gmail.com

402-552-6431

Web site

Marisa Zallocchi, PhD

BTNRH

Marisa.Zallocchi@boystown.org

402-498-6374

Web site